1 Comment

Something To Aspire To – 2KCBWDAY6

“Is there a pattern or skill that you don’t yet feel ready to tackle but which you hope to (or think you can only dream of) tackling in the future, near or distant? Is there a skill or project that makes your mind boggle at the sheer time, dedication and mastery of the craft? Maybe the skill or pattern is one that you don’t even personally want to make but can stand back and admire those that do. Maybe it is something you think you will never be bothered to actually make but can admire the result of those that have.”

Since I’ve been only knitting/crocheting for little over a year, there are TONS of skills and types of knitting that I’ve yet to try and conquer! Some of them are quite are very intimidating, while others I’m not as interested in. One of the main reasons I got into crafting in the first place was to take something that I loved from the geeky world of video games, anime, cartoons, and comics and make them into something with crafts. I wanted to learn amigurumi, mochimochi, and sewing dolls. So far I’ve learned to read and follow patterns of other people’s design, but now I want to make my own.

There were so any instances that I would get ideas of how a something from my geeky interests would be cool if it was made into a cloth-type doll or figure. I would see people post things on the internet of their creations and homage to a video game character, the various Sackboy creations from Little Big Planet, and anything created from the Super Mario Universe.

Now, that I’ve learned the basic skills, I’ve decided to start creating. With the various books from the picture, I’m going to use them as aides in figuring out how to make my first mochimochi pattern. My goal is to make a Bitey doll from the video game CreaVures by Muse Games.

I have a friend or two that works for Muse Games. They are an indie video game developer that makes games you can play through your browser or with Steam. The game came out recently and from watching the previews, it looked right up my alley. After I started playing the game, barely a few minutes in I became enamored with Bitey. I immediately thought about how awesome it would be to have a mochimochi doll of him; how it would be cool if I made him; also how difficult it would be to make it. A new challenge has arrived. I want to make Bitey. The funny and sad thing is that I was in the mood to play video games and as soon as I started, I became more interested to go back to knitting! I really need to go back to playing the game sometime.

Look at him! Isn’t he adorable!? Now of course there are many questions to how to make him: Will I incorporate his fluorescent colors? How will I add the different colors into the work? How will I make the eyes? These are all very tough and important questions that I face, but am ready and willing to take on. Let’s hope I can accomplish this task.

Wish me luck!

________________________________________________________________________________________________

Creative Commons License


Blog posts by https://rosaka.wordpress.com is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 United States License

One comment on “Something To Aspire To – 2KCBWDAY6

  1. so cute! good luck!

Leave a comment