1 Comment

Skill +1UP – 2KCBWDAY2

“Look back over your last year of projects and compare where you are in terms of skill and knowledge of your craft to this time last year. Have you learned any new skills or forms of knitting/crochet?”

This topic is somewhat moot because it has been a little over a year since I started knitting and crocheting. Practically everything I’ve done over the entire year has been new to me in regards to skill and knowledge. It would be ridiculous to write about all the various things I’ve learned this past year as well as too much to read. I’ll just stick with a few specifics.

I think of all the things I’ve learned this past year, my favorite new skill would be crocheting amigurumi and knitting mochimochi.

My original intent of crafting began with wanting to cross-stitch various video game character and cute characters of the anime world. I wanted to also sew and create various stuffed plushy dolls. Everything I loved and adored with video games and anime, I longed to see it somehow created by my own hands. After a several months of knitting, I decided it was time to learn how to crochet and start doing amigurumi.

I’ve always heard that learning to crochet was a lot easier than knitting. They were right. It’s not that knitting is necessarily more difficult than crocheting, I feel that knitting needs a few extra skills. It’s like driving a manual car vs. an automatic. Once you learn how to drive a manual, driving a manual is a lot easier.

Like knitting, I used the wonderful world of the internet and it’s plethora of video tutorials to teach me the basics of crochet and amigurumi. The Amigurumi Tutorial on Hooks & Needles taught me most of what I needed to know on how to crochet for amigurumi. The video tutorials are most excellent and are highly recommended for those wanting to learn.

As you can see from the image, it’s an orange Cthulhu. It’s actually a prototype I made using the pattern from Cthulhu Crochet & Cousins. The prototype turned out quite nicely. I was amazed at how versatile and flexible crocheting can be in regards to creating various shapes for amigurumi. I also was impressed at making the tentacles for Cthulhu. It looked very difficult to do, but after following the instructions, it was easy-peasy.

Since knitting was now second nature and I tackled a few amigurumi projects, mochimochi was the obvious next step. Mochimochi is pretty much amigurumi, but with knitting instead of crochet. It’s can be more useful in certain projects vs. amigurumi. Most of the patterns I am working on, if not all, are from Mochimochi Land. I also purchased Anna Hrachovec’s book, Knitting Mochimochi. This book has beyond the most adorable tiny knitted toys. The next mochimochi project out of that book I plan on working on are the Squirrels on Wheels.

Mochimochi is also another hobby I really want to devote my future knitting project creations on. There as so many cute and adorable characters in video games and anime that I want to make mochimochi or amigurumi out of. I am currently working on a project of my very own on creating a mochimochi of a video game character that I became enamored with from the first moment I saw it. I actually stopped playing the game so I can start writing notes on how I wanted to make the mochimochi of it. Yes, it’s sad, but as a knitter, you know of what I speak!

There are many more skills I look forward to learning in the knitting and crochet world. I always try to incorporate something new to learn with each project I do. Several of my future projects include learning new things such as: sock knitting, blocking, treble crochet, and more mochimochi and amigurumi projects.

Learning something new will always keep my passion for crafting continue until my hands fall off! (Let’s hope that never really happens. ^^;;)

________________________________________________________________________________________________

Creative Commons License


Blog posts by https://rosaka.wordpress.com is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 United States License

One comment on “Skill +1UP – 2KCBWDAY2

  1. I love the picture of the cthulhu reading his pattern and the bat you made is one of my favorite bat patterns even though it uses the needles and I don’t do that.

Leave a Reply

