Leave a comment

And Now For Something Completely Different (Sorta) – 2KCBWDAY5

“This is an experimental blogging day to try and push your creativity in blogging to the same level that you perhaps push your creativity in the items you create. There are no rules of a topic to blog about, but this post should look at a different way to present content on your blog.”

This topic was a bit of a challenge to me. I honestly had no idea what to do for this post until yesterday. This post isn’t as creative as one would hope, but it shows a different part of my creativity with crafts and making things. I’ve actually been meaning to post these projects for a while now, so it actually turned out to be prefect. Before the knitting and crocheting, there was the sewing.

It all started with me finding this book: Cute Stuff by Aranzi Aronzo. It’s a creative book filled with so many cute designs of dolls, crafts, and other appliques that required the skill of sewing. So I bought a Singer sewing machine on sale along with several yards of different color fleece and various fabric quarters of vibrant colors and designs and started creating!

One of my first creations was this bear scarf that I made as a Christmas present for a friend. It was a pretty simple design that required me to learn how to use a sewing machine. After reading through the manual and watching several videos on YouTube, using a sewing machine was a cinch. I also learned about that there are things called cutting mats and rotary cutters. They are quite handy when having to cut long pieces of fabric.

One of the next scarves I made out of fleece and felt was the Rose Crescent from the Ohtori Academy from the anime Revolutionary Girl Utena. I made it for a host of a podcast called Geek Nights. He’s a big fan of the series and the scarf seemed fitting. The Rose Crescent is made out of felt and was hand sewn onto the scarf. I really like how you can just cut fleece it doesn’t fray and looks nice and neat.

These are the final two scarves I made out of fleece and felt. The one on the left is a black and white Dutch Bunny scarf. I made it for a friend who adores bunny rabbits. It was actually a very fun and challenging scarf to make because of the different colors. The pink nose and mouth was a tad bit difficult to sew on, but with the help of glue it worked out. I also had to hand sew on the white stripe on the face. My sewing machine skills weren’t that great to be able to do a curved line.

The final scarf is the Battlestar Galactica logo I made as a Secret Santa gift. The logo is made out of felt and has hand sewn on completely. It was a lot of work to get the logo cut out in individual felt pieces as well as sewn together. I don’t think I ever want to do another scarf like that again. I know it looks really cool, but too it’s not as fun as knitting.

Well those are some of the projects that I’ve made before knitting. It’s funny that I have yet to complete a scarf from knitting. I do have that Longcat scarf I could finish, but if I were to knit a scarf, I would probably start with another one. I have a few ideas of what I would want for a scarf, but that’s a project that I don’t plan on working on until later in the Summer or perhaps Fall.

________________________________________________________________________________________________

Creative Commons License


Blog posts by https://rosaka.wordpress.com is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 United States License

Leave a Reply

