1 Comment

Where Are They Now? – 2KCBWDAY4

“Whatever happened to your __________?

Write about the fate of a past knitting project. Whether it be something that you crocheted or knitted for yourself or to give to another person. An item that lives with you or something which you sent off to charity.”

Instead of a finished project, I decided to write about an unfinished project that continues to haunt me in shame. The Longcat Scarf was one of my first projects that I’ve started back in June 2010. It was also my first time dabbling with the technique of double knitting. Double knitting really isn’t as hard at it seems, just takes twice as long to complete a project since you’re knitting both sides at the same time. It just gets very tedious having to alternate between knit and purl stitches with every stitch. It also isn’t easy holding two different strands of yarn in one hand either.
They do have yarn guides that help with that, but I found that using the normal method of holding the working yarn to be fine.

I worked off and on the project for a few month and the stopped altogether. One of the main reasons why I stopped was there were other projects I found that I would rather do. I also discovered throughout those months that there was other types of yarn other than the Red Heart Super Saver Yarn. I realized that knitting with the 100% acrylic yarn was not as pleasant as knitting with merino wool. I best describe it as scraping fingernails on a chalkboard. The yarn is just so rough on the needles. However, it’s probably best to use that yarn for the scarf because the scarf is supposed to be over 6 feet long. That’s a lot of damn yarn to use.

After about knitting 5 feet, I put the scarf away in one of the many bags of project storage that I showed in the previous post. I just lost the desire to knit it. I had many other projects that piqued my interest that I did. Other wonderful skeins of fine fiber that elated my knitting experiences.

Perhaps soon, when I have the need the do some mindless knitting, I’ll pull this project back out to finish it. The project was originally intended for myself, but because I don’t like the fiber, my boyfriend said he would happily take the scarf. I just need to make it VERY LONG. Taller than he is and he’s 6’4″.

So be on the lookout for future FO posts. It might actually be this scarf that will be on there.

________________________________________________________________________________________________

Creative Commons License


Blog posts by https://rosaka.wordpress.com is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 United States License

One comment on “Where Are They Now? – 2KCBWDAY4

  1. Now I want to knit that scarf! But I too would probably get about halfway and get really bored. Scarves drive me bonkers. I like the pic of your cat with the scarf.

Leave a Reply

