Leave a comment

Tidy Mind, Tidy Stitches – 2KCBWDAY3

“How do you keep your yarn wrangling organized? It seems like an easy to answer question at first, but in fact organization exists on many levels. Maybe you are truly not organized at all, in which case I am personally daring you to try and photograph your stash in whatever locations you can find the individual skeins. However, if you are organized, blog about an aspect of that organization process, whether that be a particularly neat and tidy knitting bag, a decorative display of your crochet hooks, your organized stash or your project and stash pages on Ravelry.”

The topic is true to what is says, “…organization exists on many levels.” I would say that there is an organization to my disorganization of yarn, needles, and tools.

I’m slowly, but surely and finally uploading all my yarn to my yarn stash on Ravelry. So far, I’ve upload my favorite skeins to my stash. I still have many more to add. I am very particular when putting things up on Ravelry. I try to make sure everything is detailed as possible and the images are clear. It took me a day to upload what I have. I then realized it’s going to take me much longer to upload the rest. Doing this process has made me realize that I have A LOT of yarn, but you will all agree that there is nothing wrong with that. :3

All my yarn that is not being used in any projects are safely stock-piled in those 3-drawer roll-away cabinets. It makes it easier to transport to and from rooms. I recently purchased a second cabinet and hopefully I won’t need to purchase a third. I do have a third one, but that contains non-yarn items. I guess it will be my “just-in-case” cabinet.

I try to keep my skeins with similar skeins in each drawer. Certain drawers contain only Cascade Eco Wool, while others contain only Lion Brand Wool-Ease or Thick ‘N Quick. Even the bastard child Red Heart Super Saver yarn has a draw. It’s the bottom drawer though, out of sight and rarely to be opened.

In my apartment we have two couches: the full size and the love seat. The love seat is NEVER used, so it has now been deemed as the “Yarn Bag Couch”. I basically took it over and amassed my many bags that I’ve collected over the years and recently. They are filled with knitting supplies, tools, and current or hibernating projects. Yes, I have A LOT of bags, but at least they are cute and geeky! I can’t help it. Whenever I see a cute bag on sale, I immediately think it would make a perfect project bag and I purchase it.

These are the tools I always have with me: knitting instructions in sheet protectors on a clipboard; Knitpicks Harmony Wood Interchangeables; circular and crochet needles; handy-dandy notebook; and various tools like stitch markers, rulers, able needles, etc.. in clear bags. They are always in my current knitting project bag. I like how makeup bags make really great knitting containers as well as pill containers. Buying normal knitting storage supplies at the local craft store can be pricey so it’s always nice to find more frugal ways to store your tools. Perhaps in a future post, I’ll give a more in-depth look into how I store all my knitting notions and supplies.

As for projects, Ravelry is a great website for me to keep track of my projects and to share them. There are times where I procrastinate like a college student on updating complete projects. Eventually, I will get them up there and then eventually, I’ll make a blog post about it. If anything, Ravelry has been a great website for me to find wonderful patterns and be a bit more social with people who share my passion.

Hopefully one day, I’ll have all my yarn uploaded to the Ravelry Stash, I will have better containers and storage, and perhaps a room for all my crafting! For now, my comfy living room couches and roll-away cabinets will have to do.

________________________________________________________________________________________________

Creative Commons License


Blog posts by https://rosaka.wordpress.com is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 United States License

Leave a Reply

