1 Comment

Die Hard Cross-Stitch Ho, Ho, Ho

Greetings.

Going to sneak in a hopefully quick post before the end of January. I’m proud to say that I have accomplished one of my resolutions for the year. I finally completed another cross-stitch project.

I present to you Die Hard cross-stitch:

If you don’t already know, this is a reference to a scene of a true holiday classic, Die Hard. Here is the scene where it’s referenced from:

I didn’t make this for myself. I rarely do that. I have a compulsion, you see. I love making things for people and giving it to them as presents. It’s always rewarding to hear how happy people are when they receive my gifts. Plus, it’s always another reason for me to keep on crafting.

The pattern was made by myself using PC Stitch Pro. It wasn’t a difficult pattern to make, and it didn’t take long to finish either. I made this particular piece for the distinguished gentleman from the world of podcasting, Mr. Dave Riley of Fast Karate for the Gentleman. The podcast is great. I can’t remember how many times I’ve had many laughs from their reviews of bad anime, video games, and overall inane banter of absolutely nothing. This piece is also because of their similar titled podcast where they talk about Die Hard.

Mr. Riley has already received his gift and was very happy with it. Another satisfied giftee. What I found funny with the finished product, was my forgetfulness in regards to mounting and framing cross-stitch designs. I made the piece to be exactly 5″ x 7″. What I forgot is that when you put a picture in a 5″ x 7″ frame, the actual space that is visible is smaller. Also most frames are for flat images and not for thick things mounted on a foam core board. After much searching, I did find a frame to where the mounted cross-stitch design on the foam core board fitted perfectly in this frame, which has no glass. I removed the glass and used a glue gun to secure the design in the frame. It’s somewhat ghetto, but it works out.

I might have another cross-stitch project I plan on finishing up that I haven’t touched in about a year. We’ll see how it goes.

As for knitting, I’m still knitting to my hearts delight. I have two super secret surprise hats already done, but won’t post them until a few months from now. I’ve started making a 4″x4″ swatch with sock yarn. I plan on making socks very soon. I’ve also purchased a book to help with this task, Teach Yourself Visually: Sock Knitting. This book seemed to be the best book for what I needed that was available at the book store. As a fairly experienced knitter, I needed something that will give me the basics of sock knitting, with detailed information and examples along with a lot of “how-to’s”, and basic to more complex sock patterns.

I have some “practice sock yarn” from the Lion Brand Sock-Ease line. Once I think I’m competent enough to make socks, I’ll start using my fancier yarn.

I have many more projects that keep adding up in my queue, but I’m waiting for my local yarn store to get them in stock. Hopefully sooner than later. I really want to work on a part of mittens for myself, even though the weather is getting warmer.

Well hope you like the cross-stitch. I must get back to knitting!

Happy crafting!

________________________________________________________________________________________________

Creative Commons License


Blog posts by https://rosaka.wordpress.com is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 United States License

One comment on “Die Hard Cross-Stitch Ho, Ho, Ho

  1. You say this is made of stitching, but in truth it’s made of awesome.

Leave a Reply

