Leave a comment

Boo Cornucopia Amigurumi

Boo Final

I was originally intending to make this post yesterday, but I got into a car accident on Friday, so I had to take care of a few things. I’m ok. My boyfriend is ok. My car is not that ok. At least I have insurance. And at least I didn’t not hurt any of my hands, arms, or fingers to prevent me from knitting!

Anyhoo, enough of normal personal stuff, let’s get to crafting!

I recently got into Amigurumi, which is making stuffed animals and cute things through the art of crochet or knitting. I am mostly doing this through crochet because I wanted to learn how to crochet.

I found a wonderful online Amigurumi tutorial called Hook And Needles that has really good videos on the basics. There are also several books that have good patterns of Amigurumi. I recommend Amigurumi World: Seriously Cute Crochet and its follow-up: Amigurumi Two!: Crocheted Toys for Me and You and Baby Too.

I haven’t made any patterns from them yet, but I will eventually. I did do a few practice projects of just a ball to make sure I got the gist of it, but my first project actually was a spur of the moment thing. A friend of mine who co-hosts a podcast called Geek Nights has a fascination with geek-themed cornucopias for Thanksgiving. One of his favorites was something a fan made with Boos from Super Mario.

I remembered him mentioning something about a contest on a recent podcast, and decided to participate with less than a week before Thanksgiving. I was up to the challenge and I vanquished it!

Boo Side

I got the cornucopia pattern from Lion Brand and the Boo pattern on Ravelry. The patterns were simple to follow. I made a few mistakes on the Boo, mostly during the decreases, but I managed to have it not as noticeable.

I posted these images to Scott and he was very happy. I’m apparently the #1 listener again, however it really doesn’t matter. I just wanted a reason to do something like this.

I have a really awesome Amigurumi project in the works right now for my Secret Santa, but I can’t divulge anything until it’s all done. I did a prototype of the project and it came out very well. All I can say is that my present is all kinds of awesome and I’m 99% sure that my Secret Santa will love it.

Well back to more crocheting and knitting. Only a few more weeks until Christmas, and I have so much to do! ^^;;

Happy Holiday Present Making!!

________________________________________________________________________________________________

Creative Commons License


Blog posts by https://rosaka.wordpress.com is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 United States License.

Leave a Reply

