9 Comments

Scott Pilgrim Stocking Hat/Snail Hat v2.0

Hat is finally completed. In the previous post, the hat wasn’t fully completed. I had many tails to weave in as well as I had to sew on the button and make a button hole. However, the hat is finally completed! Thanks to everyone who has viewed my blog. It’s amazing how a simple hat can actually build up traffic, but then again I did post this to various websites. ^__~

I’ll try to give a brief history on how this hat came into creation. I’ve been needing to make my friend a really belated birthday and Christmas present. Knitting was/is my current craze and I suggested I make him something by knitting. I’ve made him other several presents that include a Carcassonne bag and bear fleece scarf, but that will be mentioned in a future post. So he suggested that I make him that hat in Scott Pilgrim Vol. 1.:

A snail hat. Here I was, with only a few months of knitting experience under my belt and my friend asking me to make a hat from scratch from a graphic novel. It didn’t seem difficult. I just couldn’t wrap my head around making it look like a snail shell part. I Googled up various snail hat patterns on the vast interwebs, but couldn’t find anything that looked similar to what I was looking for.

I then decided to just making a stocking cap and just roll it up to look like a snail shell. That seemed to be the easiest thing to do. As for color, I first thought of using red & purple as the Scott Pilgrim Avatar Generator showed the color of the hat to be. Then when trailers of the movie came out, I saw that Lulu Bee/Lugirl had made the hat brown and teal. I was amazed at first to see that the actual hat from the graphic novel was brought into creation for the movie and even more excited to have a real image of the hat to gauge what the pattern would look like.

The original hat done by Lulu Bee is actually not a full length stocking hat, but just a long and wide slouch type hat. I really can’t describe it any better, and there probably is a term for it, but I can’t think of it right now. I decided to stick with the hat being a stocking cap because Brian Lee O’Malley said he based the hat off a really long woolen hat that was rolled up.

So I made a long stocking cap with button to make the hat able to be rolled up and stay way to look like a snail shell. Well sorta.


J & Rorschach posing for me again!

Anyhoo, I also wrote up the pattern and uploaded it in pdf format for the world to have and to hold on Ravelry or just download it here. It’s the first pattern I’ve published. It wasn’t too difficult. Thanks to the awesomeness of open source and Open Office, they made creating a pdf from a odt doc beyond simple. You can also view more images of the hat there. So far the pattern has been made a “favorite” by 64 people and been added to 22 queues. It makes me happy to know that my pattern is doing fairly well.

So if you have made this hat from my pattern, please let me know. I would love to see how it came out and how well my instructions are. I also would love to see any revisions made.

Happy knitting!

________________________________________________________________________________________________

Creative Commons License


Blog posts by https://rosaka.wordpress.com is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 United States License.

9 comments on “Scott Pilgrim Stocking Hat/Snail Hat v2.0

  1. Cool website, I had not noticed rosaka.wordpress.com previously in my searches!
    Continue the fantastic work!

  2. this looks really awesome!
    now a little youtube tutorial and everything is perfect 🙂

    • Thanks. However, don’t expect a video anytime soon. 😛

      The instructions are pretty easy to follow and they are pretty much all basic techniques of knitting. Knittinghelp.com has many videos/tutorials on knitting. It pretty much covers everything you need to know about on knitting.

      It taught me how to knit, and I started in March. Hope you can get the project done.

  3. Oh my gosh. I. Love. This. Hat.

    Made one in purple for my daughter and one in two different shades of brown for my bestie. Have demands for more from my other kids and of course, one for me! Thanks for the super easy pattern that looks exactly right! Love!

    • Thank you so much for the comments. I’m really happy that my pattern is working out for people. Hope everyone enjoys all the Scott Pilgrim hats you make for them!

  4. So glad I found this post and your pattern! I bought Lulugirl’s pattern and did one like that which turned out well, but was not completely satisfied with the slouch look. I did learn a lot about knitting from her pattern though! So now I am going to combine the 2 patterns, do less decreases, and finish with a three needle bind off. Hahahaha it’s so hard to do just one! Everyone wants one 🙂 Thanks again for sharing!

    • Thanks for the compliments. I recently bought her pattern and found similar yarn that she uses. It’s Berroco Pure Merino DK yarn. It’s absolutely wonderful to use, and I want to redo my pattern using that yarn instead of Red Heart. However, that will be a project that will have to wait.

      Hope my pattern helps out. If it’s possible, please post your completed project on Ravelry. I always love seeing other people’s complete projects from my pattern. 😀

  5. hello! i found your patter and i just finished my version of the hat based on yours xD … the thing is, i don’t know how to use needles, i use… crochet? (damn, my english for this is poor xD) anyway, the point is, i want to thank you xD your instructions gave me the main idea for this 🙂 and my fingers hurt a lot xD i hope you can see the pics:

    again, thankyou 🙂
    steph

    • Your English is fine. Also, great hat! You should consider sharing this crochet pattern with the internet/Ravelry. My pattern in for knitting not crochet. I know there are many people looking for a decent crochet pattern of this hat and your hat looks good.

      Your welcome for my pattern and I hoped it helped.

Leave a Reply

