Leave a comment

Jayne hat complete and new scarf project!

I actually finished the Jayne hat about 2 weeks ago. I had a few problems with this piece.

First off, it’s my first project with circular knitting. I thought I needed a long length for my circular needles, but soon found out that you need a shorter length of needles than the actual circumference of your project.

The pattern from Redshirt Knitting, calls for 64 cast on stitches. This actually proved to be too small for the size I was going for. I was about half way done when I figured this out, so I had to restart. I then used 96 cast on stitches and it ended up being too large. Finally the third attempt I used 80 cast on stitches and it worked out.

Circular knitting is a simple process to do, until you get to your decreases. When you start decreasing your stitches, the working row gets stretched out on your needles. The stitches become a lot tighter to work with. This is where magic loop knitting and small diameter circular knitting comes into play. I mainly used small diameter circular knitting, where I used multiple double pointed needles to keep the piece from being too stretched out and too tight to be able to knit. I’ll have to use magic loop knitting next time when I make another hat for my cousin’s daughter.

I also learned how to pick up stitches (add new stitches to already completed sides) as well as making pom poms. It was an overall fun experience learning how to circular knit. I plan to keep working on it with other projects. But enough of that, here is the final product as my cat, Digit, happily models for.

Wash: “A man walks down the street in that hat, people know he’s not afraid of anything.”
Jayne: “Damn straight.”

Firefly Episode 13: The Message

So another project complete! Huzzah! As for my new project, I won’t fully divulge what it is. I will leave with a teaser image and tell you that it’s a scarf. The new skill I am learning with this project is the evil trickery known as double knitting. I can tell you, it’s going to be a LOOOOONNNGGGG scarf. ^_^

________________________________________________________________________________________________

Creative Commons License


Blog posts by https://rosaka.wordpress.com is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 United States License.

Leave a Reply

