2 Comments

PAX Pox, DSi Cozy, and Cross-stitch Key Chains

I know. I know. I’m a horrible updater. I have been cross-stitching, but I just haven’t updated about it. I’ll do that in another post, but I’ll let you know that I’m making a lot of good progress on it.

As for PAX, it was awesome. I was able to hang out with Rym, Scott from Geek Nights along with Emily and Alex of the Front Row Crew. It was gaming with them and being able to do whatever. As a small gift for their cross-country trek, I decided to test out my cross-stitch key chain idea and made them all key chains.

Rym Scott Emily Alex

It turns out, cross-stitch key chains are pretty easy to make. It also works in using standard acrylic key chains that are primarily for inserting a photo. Each of them enjoyed their present, so it was a success. Rym got the Ohtori Academy Crest from Utena, which is one of his favorite anime. I thought it would go well with the Utena Rose Crest scarf I made him last year. It also goes with his personalized license plates that say “Ohtori”. I made Scott the Yoshi from SNES Super Mario Kart. This was my favorite one because obviously, I’m such a Yoshi fan-girl. I made Emily the cute SD Totoro, from the famous Miyazaki anime, My Neighbor Totoro. And for Alex, Burning Wheel. I really didn’t know Alex that much, however I knew he really liked Burning Wheel and ran campaigns, so I figured it would work out. He enjoyed it and apparently, the creator, Luke Crane, Tweeted about it as well: Bumped into burner alex. We chatted about our bw campaigns. He had a sweet knitted burning wheel knitted medallion! #pax4:30 PM Sep 4th from txt

As for the Geek Nights buttons that I had made, they were all pretty much handed out at PAX. Hopefully the word has spread so they can have more awesome listeners and members of their forums.

The only thing bad about PAX was the infamous PAX Pox outbreak of the flu and swine flu. I was one of the unfortunate ones to get the flu, but not the H1N1 swine flu. I was pretty much out of commission the following week. All I did was sleep, drink caramel apple cider with Thera Flu, sleep, eat soup, sleep, watch Red Dwarf on streaming Netflix, and sleep. I slept so much, that I easily rivaled the amounts my cats slept. I’m better now, except that dreadful cough that seems to never go away and back into my normal routine.

Recently, I’ve acquired the newly released hot pink DSi. I’ve been contemplating on upgrading my DS Lite to the DSi for a while now, but never seemed to have any good reasons to justify the purchase. However, with the fact that my DS Lite’s trigger buttons were acting dodgy and the release of the newer colors of DSi, I knew it was time. Also Gamestop was having a good trade-in deal for if you turned in a certain amount of Xbox 360/PS3/Wii games, you get an additional $20 trade-in credit. So after collecting many DS/Wii/360/PS3 games along with my pink DS Lite, I obtained a hot pink DSi and two copies of Scribblenauts without having to pay for anything.

So now I have a hot pink DSi, and I love the new features of it. If I only had wifi access at work, oh boy, I would really never get work done. But with the new acquired hand held gaming system, I needed something to protect it from getting any scratches for whenever I kept it in my purse. I then decided to make a cozy for it. After a good amount of searching for fabric and sitting in front of the sewing machine, I completed it.

I used four different fabric patterns for the outside and lined it with a really cute fleece pattern on the inside. It’s not the best sewing work that I’ve done, but it still managed to come out really well and am happy to have made it. I really wish that the local craft stores carried a wider variety of fabrics like Japanese imported cute prints of animals, shapes, symbols, etc… I could easily order online, but I really didn’t want to wait. It’s just annoying that most of the prints there were so boring and basic and really didn’t look cute at all.

But yes, even though I wasn’t working on my main cross-stitch project, I was doing other craft work. I still have been working on the Home Sweet Home Yoshi and will post an update on that hopefully this week.

2 comments on “PAX Pox, DSi Cozy, and Cross-stitch Key Chains

  1. I don’t know If I said it already but …Cool site, love the info. I do a lot of research online on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

    • Sorry, it took forever to reply, but thank you.

      You are the first person to ever comment on my blog, or lack of a blog.

      I appreciate your input.

Leave a Reply

