Leave a comment

Yoshi Cross-Stitch Project Week 6

Well it’s been one HELL of a week. I do mean that in all seriousness. Washington has reached record highs this week ranging in the upper 90’s to low 100’s. It’s been unbearable. However, that did not keep me from my cross-stitching!

So much color! Isn’t it pretty? Sad to say, that’s the last I’ll be using any of the vibrant colors such as DMC 498 Christmas Red Dark or DMC 973 Canary. But, the project is looking vibrant, which gives me more motivation to get the rest done. I pretty much just have the background and the tree to fill in. This will probably take 4 more weeks, at least.

I know I said in a previous post that I would fill in Yoshi last, however I don’t like wasting floss. When I was using the colors to fill in the apples, they were the same colors of Yoshi’s saddle. I don’t like having to go back to a color that I’m pretty much already done with, so I filled in his saddle.

Even though I still have a little under half the project completed, I can’t believe I’ve accomplished this much in 6 weeks. The rest of the project should go by faster because it’s just basic filling in of color. Not a lot of special patterns I need to follow, other than the zig-zag of colors in the clouds and hills.

I think this week, I’ll definitely have to Joann’s to find a pre-cut mat to go with the piece. I’ve been leaning towards a green, however blue would work as well. Then I’ll have to buy a frame, however I made the pattern to fit a pre-cut mat at the size of 9″ x 7″ to fit a standard sized frame of probably 13″ x 11″.

Now, I just need to figure out where to hang it when it’s finally complete. -_-

Leave a Reply

